About the Conference

The purpose of the meeting is to bring together the number of ICO-ICTP Gallieno Denardo Award winners and other leading scientists from around the world, working in the area of Optics and Photonics, to promote new ideas, discuss latest research trends and share their innovative work. This activity is designed to promote light sciences and applications within Pakistan's scientific community including its students. The workshop structure will allow students and young researchers opportunities to meet and interact informally with the plenary speakers and others, as well as providing a conducive environment for the participants to share experiences. In addition to the lectures, there will be practical training with laboratories covering a variety of topics, including the basis of optics, information processing, Fourier optics and laser spectroscopy.

06 Invited Foreign Speakers

5 Days Event


  • Classical Optics
  • Quantum Optics
  • Atom Optics
  • Nonlinear Optics
  • Optical Imaging
  • Optical Engineering
  • Fiber Optics
  • Optoelectronic Devices
  • Laser Spectroscopy


Imrana Ashraf Zahid (Quaid-i-Azam University Islamabad)
Raheel Ali (Quaid-i-Azam University Islamabad)
Jehan Akbar (Hazara University, Mansehra)

Our Speakers

Miguel A. Alonso (Uni. of Rochester, USA)
Humberto Cabrera (Inst. Sci. Research, Venezuela)
Mourad Zghal (Uni. of Carthage, Tunisia)
Ali Reza Moradi (IASBS, Zanjan, Iran)
Parviz Elahi (Bilkent University, Turkey)
Vanderlei Bagnato (Uni. of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Ata ul Haq (LUMS, Lahore, Pakistan)
Yasir Jamil (Uni. Of Agricult., Faisalabad, Pakistan)

Advisory Committee

Eugene G. Arthurs (CEO, SPIE)
Joseph J. Niemela (ICTP, Italy) - Vice President, International commission for Optics
Maria J. Yzuel (Uni. de Barcelona, Spain) - Past President, SPIE
Anna Consortini (Uni. of Florence, Italy) - Past President, International commission for Optics
Mario Bertolotti (Uni. of Rome Italy) - European Optical Society
M. Aslam Baig (NCP, Pakistan)
Yaocheng Shi (Zhejiang University, China)
Javed Akhtar ( Member Science, PEAC)

Registration Fee

Pakistani students : 2000 pkr
Foreign students : 100 usd
Pakistani delegates : 5000 pkr

Student Volunteers

(1) Sidra Jamil (Quaid-i-Azam University)
(2) Abdul Rahman (Quaid-i-Azam University)
(3) Muhammad Usman Malik (Quaid-i-Azam University)
(4) Gul-e-Ali (Quaid-i-Azam University)
(5) Adeela Rehman(Quaid-i-Azam University)
(6) Neelofar (Quaid-i-Azam University)
(7) Sidra Parveen (Hazara University Mansehra)
(8) Khuzaima Saeed (Hazara University Mansehra)
(9) Gohar Aziz (Hazara University Mansehra)
(10) Shujaat Ali (Hazara University Mansehra)

Financial Support

A limited number of grants are available to provide partial travel support to selected graduate students

Download Support Form

Please download support form, and send filled form to opticsworkshop2017@gmail.com along with your CV, list of publications and copy of CNIC/passport